IJCAI-22 Awards -- Call for Nominations

IJCAI calls for nominations for its 2022 awards. These awards include the Computer and Thought Award, the John McCarthy Award, and the Research Excellence Award. The 2022 IJCAI Award Committee Chair is Professor Maria Gini, University of Minnesota, USA.

Nominations for IJCAI awards may be made by any member of the AI community. Nominations should take the form of a **single** PDF document, uploaded to the relevant nomination website (see below). The nomination on the first page should state the name of the candidate being nominated, their email address and website (if available), and the name and contact details of the nominator. The nomination should contain a statement (no more than 2000 words) clearly specifying why the nominee is deserving of the award. The nomination should contain letters of support from up to 3 supporters from the AI community, who should also clearly state why they believe the nominee is deserving of the award (each supporting statement should be no more than 1000 words and should identify the supporter).

Nominations must be uploaded no later than <u>March 21, 2022</u> at the relevant nomination web site:

Computers and Thought nomination site: https://forms.gle/r8nB7NQyFq3D6kTC6

John McCarthy nomination site: https://forms.gle/GbWMsfJwKn44QeAx9

Research Excellence nomination site: https://forms.gle/vjHBQ5zsyEtLAUP6A

Nominations received after this date will not be considered. Informal enquiries or requests for clarification should be sent to the chair of the IJCAI-2022 awards committee: **Maria Gini** <gini@umn.edu> (subject line: "IJCAI 2022 Awards").

Details on the awards and previous winners

IJCAI-22 Computers and Thought Award

The Computers and Thought Award is presented at IJCAI conferences to outstanding young scientists in artificial intelligence. The award was established with royalties received from the book, Computers and Thought, edited by Edward Feigenbaum and Julian Feldman. It is currently supported by income from IJCAI funds. Past recipients of this honor have been: Terry Winograd (1971), Patrick Winston (1973), Chuck Rieger (1975), Douglas Lenat (1977), David Marr (1979), Gerald Sussman (1981), Tom Mitchell (1983), Hector Levesque (1985), Johan de Kleer (1987), Henry Kautz (1989), Rodney Brooks (1991), Martha Pollack (1991), Hiroaki Kitano (1993), Sarit Kraus (1995), Stuart Russell (1995), Leslie Kaelbling (1997), Nicholas Jennings (1999), Daphne Koller (2001), Tuomas Sandholm (2003), Peter Stone (2007), Carlos Guestrin (2009), Andrew Ng (2009), Vincent Conitzer (2011), Malte Helmert (2011), Kristen Grauman (2013), Ariel Procaccia (2015), Percy Liang (2016), Devi Parikh (2017) and Stefano Ermon (2018), Guy Van den Broeck (2019), Piotr Skowron (2020) and Fei Fang (2021).

IJCAI-22 John McCarthy Award

The IJCAI John McCarthy Award is intended to recognize established mid-career researchers, typically between 15 to 25 five years after obtaining their Ph.D., that have built up a major track record of research excellence in artificial intelligence. Nominees of the award will have made significant contributions to the research agenda in their area and will have a first-rate profile of influential research results. The award is named after John McCarthy (1927-2011), who is widely recognized as one of the founders of the field of artificial intelligence. As well as giving the discipline its name, McCarthy made fundamental contributions of lasting importance to computer science in general and artificial intelligence in particular, including time-sharing operating systems, the LISP programming languages, knowledge representation, commonsense reasoning, and the logicist paradigm in artificial intelligence. The award was established with the full support and encouragement of the McCarthy family. Past recipients of this honor have been: Bart Selman (2015), Moshe Tennenholtz (2016), Dan Roth (2017), Milind Tambe (2018), Pedro Domingos (2019), Daniela Rus (2020) and Tuomas Sandholm (2021).

IJCAI-22 Award for Research Excellence

The Research Excellence award is given to a scientist who has carried out a program of research of consistently high quality throughout an entire career yielding several substantial results. Past recipients of this honor are the most illustrious group of scientists from the field of Artificial Intelligence. Past recipients are John McCarthy (1985), Allen Newell (1989), Marvin Minsky (1991), Raymond Reiter (1993), Herbert Simo(1995), Aravind Joshi (1997), Judea Pearl (1999), Donald Michie (2001), Nils Nilsson (2003), Geoffrey E. Hinton (2005), Alan Bundy (2007), Victor Lesser (2009), Robert Anthony Kowalski (2011), Hector Levesque (2013), Barbara Grosz (2015), Michael I. Jordan (2016), Andrew Barto (2017) and Jitendra Malik (2018), Yoav Shoham (2019), Eugene Charles Freuder (2020) and Richard Sutton (2021).

Information available at https://www.ijcai.org/awards